Get Help

For membership and office enquiries, contact Andy Tait

For event booking enquiries contact Jess

For help with assessments, contact Kate

For website and PR, contact Katie

Alternatively, fill out the form below and we will contact you.

Site Search

Click here to search for a Teacher, Class or Event

Training to Teach

Yogacharya Sri B.K.S. Iyengar developed what has come to be called Iyengar yoga from a firm spiritual, philosophical and practical base. Iyengar yoga is a way of life, rather than a physical activity.

Students are advised to take the necessary time to learn the asanas and pranayama purely for the joy of learning.

How do I sign up to train as a teacher?

  • If you’ve attended Iyengar yoga classes regularly for a minimum of three years and have a good standard of practice in the Level 1 asanas, you can begin to train as a teacher.
  • The route to teaching is via mentorship with an experienced teacher who has been approved as a mentor by Iyengar Yoga (UK). 
  • If you’re interested in training to teach please discuss this with your regular class teacher. If your teacher isn’t able to mentor you themselves, they’ll be able to put you in touch with a suitable mentor.

What happens when I start training?

  • As a trainee, you’ll be expected to attend regular classes with your mentor and will progress to demonstrate and assist during class as well as undertaking various written assignments and attending peer-group sessions.
  • The mentorship period will last a minimum of three years, but may take longer.
  • During the mentorship period, trainees are expected to learn both the Level 1 and Level 2 syllabi – before teaching the basics, students must be at an advanced level of learning.


After completing the above (three years’ attendance at classes, plus at least three years of mentorship), candidates will have practised Iyengar yoga regularly for a minimum of six years before applying for the Level 1 teaching assessment.

They will have achieved a high standard in their personal practice in the asanas, and a preliminary awareness of the subtlety of Iyengar yoga and its philosophy.

Certification Levels

Teachers are certified from Level 1 through to Level 5, with 5 being the most advanced.

These certificate levels came into effect from 1 July 2020, and replace the previous Introductory/Junior Intermediate/Senior/Advanced levels.

Teachers are listed on this website at their equivalent new level, but all previous certificates remain valid and are listed on the teacher’s profile.

Web Design SkiptonWeb Developer Skipton