IY(UK) holds a Convention every year with different guest teachers from around the world. Our aim is to bring together as many yoga practitioners as possible into one place, so that the bonds of the Iyengar community are strengthened, old friends are met, new ones are made, and all can learn together.

Up and Coming Conventions

IY(UK) Annual Convention 2021: 30th April – 3rd May with Abhijata Iyengar

We are honoured to welcome Abhijata Iyengar as our headline teacher for 2021, leading us in a programme of daily classes. Abhijata is the granddaughter of BKS Iyengar, and co-director with Prashant Iyengar of our mother institute RIMYI in Pune, India. This is a very special opportunity for our Iyenga Yoga (UK) community to receive Abhijata’s teachings, through this bespoke programme designed to be responsive, stabilising and inspirational, at a time when we need it most.

2021 Virtual Convention highlights
• Lead teacher Abhijata Iyengar
• 4 days of live classes with Abhijata 09.30 – 11.45
• Attend in seminar mode or as a ‘seen’ student
• 21 day access to recordings

Concessions and the Convention Bursary Scheme

The convention price for this event (9 hours teaching over 4 days) is £95. Concessions £70.

In 2021 we have launched a new Convention Bursary scheme, where those experiencing financial hardship can apply for a free Convention place. The scheme is open to anyone resident in the UK and Ireland with at least 18 months’ regular Iyengar yoga experience.

Access programme: FREE to all Members

In parallel with Abhijata’s teaching, we plan to launch a programme of further content including talks, films, panels, classes, other materials and archive footage. This additional content will be made available FREE to all our members.

More Information coming soon………

Past Conventions

Thanks to all who attended our Virtual Convention on 20 and 21 June! Read about the event here

See pictures from all past Conventions on our Flickr account

Previous IY(UK) Conventions:

2020: Online: Navaz Kamdin, Edwin Bryant, Jayne Orton, Julie Brown
2019: Navaz Kamdin
2018: Margaret Austin, Tricia Booth, Julie Brown, Jayne Orton
2017: Jawahar Bangera
2016: Raya Uma Datta
2015: Birjoo Mehta
2014: Abhijata Sridhar Iyengar
2013: Rajvi Mehta
2012: Zubin Zarthoshtimanesh
2011: Jawahar Bangera
2010: Zubin Zarthoshtimanesh
2009: Geeta Iyengar
2008: Birjoo Mehta
2007: Dr Rajlaxmi and Devki Desai
2006: Jawahar Bangera
2005: Rajiv and Swati Chanchani
2004: Rajvi and Birjoo Mehta
2003: Jawahar Bangera
2002: Geeta Iyengar
2001: Birjoo Mehta
2000: Rajiv and Swati Chanchani