Teacher Training

About our teachers

Iyengar yoga is taught in over 70 countries worldwide, and in the UK alone we have over 1100 currently certified teachers.

All teachers are trained to rigorously high standards.  After training regularly with a qualified teacher for a minimum of three consecutive years, candidates undertake a two year teacher training programme followed by the Introductory assessment.  Once qualified, teachers must continue training regularly and complete professional development training each year in order to maintain their membership of the Association.  In this way the care and precision that characterises Iyengar yoga is maintained.

These high teaching standards are part of the reason Iyengar yoga is the most widely performed method of yoga worldwide.  Our Certification Mark is the guarantee of this quality.

Certification Levels:


Intermediate Junior Level 1, 2, 3

Intermediate Senior Level 1, 2, 3

Advanced Junior Level 1, 2, 3

Advanced Senior Level 1, 2